Permanent Mission of the Republic of Indonesia to ASEAN
Jl. Mangunsarkoro No. 1, Menteng
Jakarta Pusat, 10310
Republic of Indonesia
Tel: +62 (0) 21 3904777
Fax: +62 (0) 21 3907525

On 8 August 1967, together with Singapore, Thailand, Malaysia, and the Philippines, Indonesia founded a regional framework to facilitate economic cooperation, now known as the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). Indonesia assumed Chairmanship of ASEAN in 2011 from Vietnam following the request of Indonesia for a swap of the Chairmanship with Brunei.

Indonesia is a member of various ASEAN and other regional frameworks including the ASEAN Inter-Parliamentary Assembly (AIPA), Asia Pacific Telecommunity (APT), ASEAN Regional Forum (ARF), Asia Cooperation Dialogue (ACD), ASEAN-Europe Meeting (ASEM), and Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO).