ASEAN Commission on the Rights of Women and Children

Each ACWC representative is appointed by his or her government. The process of appointment differs in each country.

Brunei Darussalam

H.E. Dayang Hajah Mordiah bte Haji Jackia (2013-2016)
Her excellency previously headed the Family Development Section of the then Social Welfare Department. Now retired from government service, she was the first President of the Brunei Social Welfare Council. This is her first term with ACWC. Full Biography


H.E. Long Sophally (2010-2016)
Mrs. Long Sophally is currently serving as the Deputy Director of the International Cooperation Department of the Ministry of Women’s Affairs of Cambodia. She is also the Assistant of the Secretariat to the Technical Working Group on Gender (TWG-G). This is her second term with ACWC. Full Biography
H.E. Ms. Lily Dorianty Purba (2014-2019)
Lily Dorianty Purba is a gender consultant who is currently working as a gender advisor for International Development Agency in Indonesia to provide technical advices on gender equality to Country Development Program and Projects.for different issues. She has worked for over 25 years on the ground in Indonesia. Her background includes gender equality, women and human rights, community empowerment and advocacy. Full Biography
H.E. Ms. Siamphone Sirattanakoul (2010-2016)
Ms. Siamphone Sirattanakoul is the Director of the International Relations Division of Lao Women’s Union. Throughout her career, she has been actively engaged in issues related to women and youth, particularly with respect to the enhancement of women’s capacity to implement government policy and national program. Full Biography
H.E. Dato’ Dr. Sabariah Hassan (2014-2017)
Dato’ Sabariah Hassan is the Secretary General for the Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development, Malaysia. Having worked with the Malaysian Government for almost 30 years, she has vast experience in various areas of policy and administration in the public service. She is one of the 7 women Secretary General out of 24 Ministries in Malaysia. Full Biography
H.E. Ms. Daw Mya Mya (2014-2016)
Daw Mya Mya was appointed President of Myanmar Women's Affairs Federation in 2012. Prior to that she served in respective positions as Secretary General, Member of Secretariat, Deputy Leader of Information Department of Myanmar Women's Affairs Federation since it's establisment in December 2014. Full Biography
The Philippines
H.E. Prof. Aurora Javate-De Dios (2010-2016)
Prof. Aurora Javate-De Dios is the Executive Director of the Women and Gender Institute at Miriam College in the Philippines and a Professor in International and Migration Studies in the same institution. She previously served as an expert on the UN Committee on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women. This is her second term with ACWC. Biography
H.E. Ms. Laura Hwang Cheng Lin (2014-2017)
Laura Hwang is a highly experienced Singaporean, who has been recognised for her leadership in both the financial and community service sectors for her strong strategic, business and leadership abilities.
  Full Biography
H.E. Mrs. Kanda Vajrabhaya (2010-2016)
Mrs. Kanda Vajrabhaya is a former Deputy Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Social Development and Human Security. She served as the Chief Gender Equality Officer within this Ministry, developing a plan on gender equality promotion for all line ministries and departments. This is her second term with ACWC and served as the ACWC Chair from 2010-2013. Full Biography
Viet nam
H.E. Ms. Cao Thi Thanh Thuy (2010-2016)
Ms. Cao Thi Thanh Thuy is the Deputy Director General of the International Cooperation Department of the Ministry of Labour, Invalids and Social Affairs. She is the National Focal Point for the ASEAN Senior Official Meeting on Social Welfare and Development (SOMSWD) and the ASEAN Committee on Women (ACW). This is her second term with ACWC. Biography